physical web location-based services favendo

What is the Physical Web?

With a web page and a physical web beacon, any place or object can be provided with informative content. The beacon sends out a URL that leads to a page with relevant information. For example, a movie poster can refer to a URL to the website with the movie trailer and show times. The sent URL can also include a tag indicating the location of the poster and filtering for nearby cinemas on the website. Beacons are not stationary. For example, a dog collar can send out information about the dog. If the dog is lost, the owner can update the website with information about the status. The finder then receives the information via the URL that the dog is being searched for and the contact to the owner.

There are many ways to send out a URL. Currently, the Physical Web uses Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) because it is available on all mobile devices. In addition, the technology is very energy efficient – many Bluetooth beacons now have batteries that last for several years.

FURTHER APPLICATION POSSIBILITIES:

Information on exhibits in museums
Cashless payment at parking machines
Departure information at bus stops
Reservation management in the catering trade
City sightseeing information / interactive digital tour guide
Interaction with vending machines for cashless payment
Interactive operating instructions, e.g. for heating systems
Further product information in the retail trade
The Bamberg-based start-up rocket 7 has developed Substance, a system that enables the entry into the physical web without hurdles. Substance is a content and location management system, in which POIs can be managed without much effort and physical websites can be created, whether for locations or objects.

Content is often already available and does not have to be recreated. Existing systems can be easily connected to Substance through a comprehensive API. This means there is no additional effort for the maintenance of content. More information about Rakete 7 can be found here.

physical web location-based services favendo

Was ist Physical Web?

Mit einer Webpage und einem  Physical Web Beacon kann jeder Ort oder jedes Objekt mit informativem Content versehen werden. Der Beacon sendet eine URL aus, die zu einer Seite mit relevanten Informationen führt. Zum Beispiel kann ein Filmplakat auf eine URL zur Webseite mit dem Filmtrailer und Vorstellungszeiten hinweisen. In die gesendete URL kann außerdem ein Kennzeichen eingebaut werden, das auf den Standort des Posters hinweist und dafür sorgt, dass auf der Webseite nach Kinos in der Nähe gefiltert wird. Beacons sind dabei nicht ortsgebunden. Zum Beispiel kann ein Hundehalsband Informationen über den Hund aussenden. Geht der Hund verloren, kann der Besitzer die Webseite mit Informationen zum Status updaten. Der Finder erhält über die URL dann die Info, dass der Hund gesucht wird und den Kontakt zum Besitzer.

Um eine URL auszusenden, gibt es viele Weg. Aktuell nutzt das Physical Web Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), weil es auf allen Mobilgeräten verfügbar ist. Zusätzlich ist die Technologie sehr energieeffizient – viele Bluetooth Beacons verfügen inzwischen über mehrere Jahre haltbare Batterien.
WEITERE EINSATZMÖGLICHKEITEN:
– Informationen zu Ausstellungsstücken in Museen
– Bargeldlose Bezahlung am Parkautomaten
– Abfahrtsinformationen an Bushaltestellen
– Reservierungsmanagement in der Gastronomie
– Informationen zu Sehenswürdigkeiten in einer Stadt / interaktiver digitaler Tourguide
– Interaktion mit Verkaufsautomaten zur bargeldlosen Bezahlung
– Interaktive Betriebsanleitungen zum Beispiel für Heizungsanlagen
– Weiterführende Produktinformationen im Einzelhandel

Das Bamberger Start-up Rakete 7 hat mit Substance ein System entwickelt, das den Einstieg in das Physical Web ohne Hürden ermöglicht. Substance ist ein Content- und Location-Management-System, in dem sich ohne viel Aufwand POIs verwalten und Physical Webseiten erstellen lassen, egal ob für Orte oder Gegenstände.

 

Content ist dabei oft bereits verfügbar und muss nicht neu erstellt werden. Durch eine umfangreiche API lassen sich bestehende Systeme einfach an Substance anbinden. Somit entsteht kein zusätzlicher Aufwand für die Pflege von Inhalten.

Weitere Informationen zu Rakete 7 finden Sie hier.